Set Up an MOT Station Be a Nominated Tester Be an Authorised Tester Quality Control Tester FAQ's Nominated Training Authorised Requirements MOT Manager Training Courses Refresher Sample Questions

Training Courses

Mot Tester
You need to:
1 Be sponsored by the Authorised Examiner of a vehicle testing station.
2 Have a full (unrestricted) driving licence for the classes of vehicle you want to MOT test.
3 Be a skilled mechanic with at least 4 years full time experience repairing the vehicle types you will be required to test.
4 Have no “unspent” convictions for criminal offences connected with the Vehicle Testing Scheme or the motor trade, or involving acts of violence or intimidation.
5 For classes III, IV, V or VII, have passed the NTT Assessment exam or have one of the following vehicle qualifications:
National craft certificate in the specialism of Vehicle Maintenance and Electronic Systems.

City and guilds

i. Repair and Servicing of Road Vehicles, 383 - full level 2 or 3
ii. Motor Vehicle Craft Studies, Modular - part 3 (requires 3 modules)
iii. Motor Vehicle Craft Studies, 381 - full part 2 or 3
iv. Motor Vehicle Craft Studies (pre 381 syllabus) - full part 2
v. Light or Heavy Vehicle Mechanics Craft studies - full part 2 or 3
vi. Motor Vehicle Technician’s Certificate - full part 1

BTEC, Motor Vehicle Engineering Studies, National Certificate or ONC.

Scottish Vocational Educational Council National Certificate in Vehicle Mechanics and Systems, part 3.

i. Vehicle Mechanical and Electronic Systems, Maintenance and Repair (LV) or (HV) level 3.
ii. Vehicle Technician - Vehicle Maintenance and Repair (LV) or (HV) Level 3

What next?

• Complete a VT78 application form and send it to: Vehicle & Operator Services Agency (VOSA), Training Services, Booking Section, Berkeley House, Croydon Street, Bristol BS5 ODA Tel 0117 954 3434.
• For classes I or II (motorcycles), successfully complete the 2 day VOSA Nominated Tester Training (NTT MC) course and pass a practical test at your sponsor’s vehicle testing station.
• For classes III, IV, V or VII, attend and pass the 3 day VOSA Nominated Tester Training (NTT LV) course and pass a practical test at sponsor’s vehicle testing station.

The NTT Assessment for classes III, IV, V or VII
If you do not have one of the qualifications listed, but you comply with 1, 2 ,3 & 4, then you will automatically be put forward to sit the VOSA Nominated Tester Assessment exam (NTTA)

The exam is one and a half hours long and consists of 60 multiple choice questions. The questions are entirely technical and cover vehicle items included in the MOT test i.e. brakes, steering, suspension, wheels & tyres, electrical systems, body and corrosion, exhaust emissions and general subjects.

This assessment will take place at your local VOSA Area Office.

We and our third party partners use technology such as cookies on our site. This is to give you a better experience, analyse how you and other visitors use this website and show you relevant, tailored advertisements. By using this website you agree to the use of cookies. You can read our Cookies Policy using the link in the footer of this page.

Accept Cookies